Making The Arthurian Legend Come To Life in The Order 1886

If The Order 1866 is to become a PS4 masterpiece, it must match the narrative brilliance of GTA V, The Last of Us and Bioshock Infinite 

Gameplay and Graphics Aren’t Enough for The Order 1886

It must be tempting for a game developer working on a nextgen game to get too caught up in the graphics.

Graphics are the most obvious advancement in new consoles. Whether you’re playing a PS4 game or a XBOX One game, your first reaction, your first WOW, probably comes from the graphics.

But if the past year has taught us anything about gaming and about gamers, it’s that graphics aren’t enough. The bestselling games of 2013 (Grand Theft Auto 5, Beyond: Two souls, Bioshock Infinite and The Last of Us, in particular) all featured truly outstanding narratives.

For The Order 1886 to be the masterpiece that Ready at Dawn want it to be, and that Sony expect it to be—The Order 1886 being a major PS4 exclusive, and all—they’ll need to conjure the sort of gripping narrative and immersive atmosphere that all of 2013’s bestsellers achieved.

So, how exactly are Ready At Dawn setting about creating an amazing story with The Order 1886?


The Order 1886 Story Synopsis

The Order 1886 is set in a foggy London, in an alternate time when the Industrial Revolution produces more than steel and houses, creating grenades, lightning guns, Zeppelins and other such fun things. Humanity has been cleaved in two. Half the human race remain untainted, while the other half have mutated into bestial ‘Half Breeds” who terrorise the humans.

Prompted by the menace of the Half Breeds, a group of knights have sworn to eradicate them from the face of the Earth. This promise by the knights is named the titular Order 1886.

At first it seemed The Order 1886—the knights—were on their way to victory. But then the Half Breeds mutated further. Their power increased. They’ve devastated the people of the Victorian era. The population is in rapid decline as Half Breeds continue to hunt and murder.

The Industrial Revolution, however, was always a time of hope and promise, a time of development and of invention. The most important of those inventions is the discovery of Black Water, a chemical substance that imbues an individual with extended life and exceptional healing abilities. Naturally, Black Water is reserved for the knights, given to the fight, to the order 1886.

Among the knights of Order 1886 come are cast of primary characters. So far we’ve seen three knights and one newcomer.

Our protagonist and player-character Grayson. Grayson also goes by Sir Galahad, the moniker derived from Arthurian legend, in which Galahad was son of Lancelot and Elaine and one of the achievers of the Holy Grail.

Travelling with Grayson on his quest is Sebastian Malory, whose name comes from Thomas Malory, author of The Death of Arthur.

As the oldest surviving member of The Order 1886, Malory—who has a Jeremy Irons look about him—serves as counsellor to Grayson.

Rounding out our trio of knights is Isabeau D’Argyll, who soon advances her position from being Malory’s apprentice to Lady Igraine. Her love affair with Malory is condemned by those in the city—creating a forbidden love story. It seems popping down the alley for a quick screw while mutants lay waste to innocents is frowned upon.

Journeying with our knights is the Marquis da Lafayette, a real life figure who was commander of France’s national guard in the French Revolution then, during the American Revolutionary War, a general in Washington’s army—so, quite a handy fellow to have around.

The Order 1886’s story is an alternate history piece largely centred around Arthurian legend. Naturally we’re excited to see how well this historical fiction works when the final game is released. What other Arthurian characters will be revealed? We’ll have to wait and see.

The Order:1886 is all about history. Particularly Arthurian legend. To truly  appreciate the game’s narrative, we recommend dipping into the history and legends the game depicts. Here’s a look at some awesome books that do precisely that.

The Death of King Arthur

One of the major characters in The Order 1866 is Sebastian Malory, whose name comes from Thomas Malory, author of The Death of King Arthur. The Death of King Arthur tells of Arthur’s final days in a world of fading chivalric glory.


One of the major characters in The Order 1886 is Marquis da Lafayette, a hero of the American Revolution and General in Washington’s army. In this book, Harlow Giles Unger depicts Layafette’s remarkable life in astonishing detail, creating both a wonderfully entertaining and informative title.

Player Character Grayson is based on Sir Galahad of Arthurian legend. In the Arthurian legend, Galahad is one of the knights who achieved The Holy Grail. This classic book tells the story of the holy grail and introduces us to Galahad, the main character of The Order: 1886.

The Quest of the Holy Grail 

Paul Harrison

Paul M Harrison is an entertainment journalist, novelist, and blogger, and a specialist in the theory of storytelling. Paul Harrison can be contacted via his personal website or on Twitter or Facebook.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *